Quick summary

DetailValue
Grace periodNot published by the biller. See below.
Late fee$15.00 ($10.00 in VA, ME and AZ)
Service restrictionNot yet re-verified. See the verification log.
Full disconnectionNot yet re-verified. See the verification log.
Reconnection feeNot published by the biller. See below.
Early termination feeSet in your Promotion Agreement. There is no single published figure.
Credit reportingReserves the right to report[1]
CollectionsNot published by the biller. See below.
Source verifiedSeptember 2026

Late fee

DISH Network's current fee schedule lists a late payment fee of $15.00 on past-due residential balances, reduced to $10.00 for customers in Virginia, Maine and Arizona [2] .

The fee may apply in each billing cycle the balance remains unpaid. DISH does not publish a grace period or a day count before the fee applies. It says only that the fee is charged "if you do not pay your bill in full on or before its due date."

Note on a discrepancy between DISH's own sources: DISH's Residential Customer Agreement (Exhibit 1, current version) states the Late Payment Fee is $12.00 ($10.00 in VA, ME and AZ), not $15.00. The $15.00 figure above comes from DISH's fee-schedule support page, which is more specific and current; the Agreement itself appears not to have been updated to match. We're publishing the $15.00 figure as the operative one, but readers should know DISH's own contract still prints a different number.

Source: DISH Network Residential Customer Agreement[1] (confirms a late fee is charged and describes it as a fee, not interest, but currently states $12.00/$10.00, not the $15.00/$10.00 shown on DISH's fee schedule above)


Suspension timeline

DISH's Residential Customer Agreement establishes that a late fee applies and that DISH may disconnect service for non-payment, but it does not publish day counts for any of these steps. The figures previously shown here (~14/~21–30/~30/~60–90 days) are not stated in DISH's current Agreement or fee schedule, so we withdrew them pending a source. See the verification log for status.


Reconnection fee

DISH's fee schedule does not list a reconnection or restart-fee amount. Its Residential Customer Agreement (§5) says only that before reconnecting service, DISH's representatives "may require that you pay all past due prices, fees and charges for Services, a restart price, fee or charge and/or a prepayment". It names no dollar figure. To restore DISH service after disconnection, you can generally expect to:

  • Pay the full past-due balance
  • Possibly pay a restart/reconnection charge or a prepayment. DISH does not publish an amount
  • Additional charges may apply if equipment was retrieved or a technician visit is needed

Source: DISH Network Residential Customer Agreement[1]


Early termination fees

DISH offers most service on a term commitment. If your service is terminated for non-payment before the term ends, an early termination fee ("ETF") may apply, but DISH's Residential Customer Agreement does not set a single dollar amount. It states only:

"Please reference your applicable Promotion Agreement(s) for details regarding any Early Termination Fee that may apply."

The ETF amount is set per-promotion, in the specific offer agreement you signed, not in one document that covers every DISH customer. A single "$20/month" figure cannot be sourced site-wide, so we removed it.

The one ETF waiver the Agreement does state: DISH will not charge an ETF if you disconnect service within 24 hours of accepting the Agreement's terms and conditions. Broader waivers (military deployment under SCRA, death of the customer) are not stated in the current Agreement, so we removed them pending a source.

Source: DISH Network Residential Customer Agreement[1]


Credit reporting

What DISH says: DISH's Residential Customer Agreement says you authorize DISH "to report any payment defaults to credit reporting agencies." It gives no day count.[1]

What federal law actually sets

Reporting to the credit bureaus is optional. The CFPB puts it plainly: "Reporting to credit bureaus and other consumer reporting agencies by creditors is voluntary and historically has been. Not all creditors report information about their borrowers."[3]: p. 15 The Fair Credit Reporting Act's rules for the companies that do report cover accuracy, disputes and dates. They don't set a minimum number of days late before an account can be reported.[4]: (a)

The "30 days late" figure you see everywhere comes from the data format, not from a law. Most furnishers send data to the bureaus in Metro 2, which reports "the level of delinquency such as 30-59 days past due, 60-89 days past due, and up to 180 days or more past due."[3]: pp. 3, 16 Experian's list of payment-status codes has no code for anything less than 30 days late: the late codes start at "Account 30 days past due date" and go up in 30-day steps to 180.[5] So a payment 10 or 20 days late has no late code to be reported under, though a late fee can still apply.

A third-party debt collector can't report a debt until it has either spoken to you about it in person or by phone, or mailed or electronically sent you a message about it and waited "a reasonable period of time to receive a notice of undeliverability."[6]: (a)(1)

Charge-off

A charge-off is the lender writing the balance off its books as a loss. It isn't the lender giving up: the federal bank policy that sets charge-off timing says the write-off "does not mean that the asset has absolutely no recovery or salvage value."[7] That policy also sets the timing, for banks and thrifts only: "Closed-end retail loans that become past due 120 cumulative days and open-end retail loans that become past due 180 cumulative days from the contractual due date should be classified loss and charged off." Closed-end means a loan with a fixed schedule, such as an installment loan; open-end means a revolving line, such as a credit card. Credit unions are outside it. Their regulator, the NCUA, "does not plan to adopt the Uniform Policy at this time."[8] It doesn't apply to phone, cable, streaming, insurance or utility companies either, because none of them is a bank. When one of those companies writes off a balance, the timing is its own.

How long it can stay on a report

For an account placed for collection or charged off, the Fair Credit Reporting Act's seven-year limit doesn't start on the day you fell behind. It starts 180 days later: the seven years begin "upon the expiration of the 180-day period beginning on the date of the commencement of the delinquency which immediately preceded the collection activity, charge to profit and loss, or similar action."[9]: (c)(1) That makes it about seven and a half years from the first missed payment. Paying the balance later doesn't restart or shorten that clock. Whoever reports a collection or charge-off must also tell the bureau "the month and year of the commencement of the delinquency", within 90 days of reporting it, and a collector who later reports the same account complies by reporting "the same date of delinquency as that provided by the creditor".[4]: (a)(5) A late payment that never goes to collection or charge-off falls under a separate catch-all, "any other adverse item of information", which also runs seven years but names no start date.[9]: (a)(5)

Direct reporting vs. collections

A company can report an account it still owns, or it can hand or sell the account to a collection agency, which then reports under its own name. The two can show up as separate items on your report for the same bill, and "consumers generally are not required to be notified when debt is sold or assigned to a collection agency."[3]: p. 30 Which of the two you're dealing with decides which rights apply. The Fair Debt Collection Practices Act covers people collecting debts owed to someone else, and it excludes a creditor's own staff "while, in the name of the creditor, collecting debts for such creditor." A creditor that collects under a different name is covered, though: the law "includes any creditor who, in the process of collecting his own debts, uses any name other than his own which would indicate that a third person is collecting or attempting to collect such debts."[10]: (6)

If the account reaches collections

A debt collector must send you validation information (what you owe, to whom, and how to dispute it) in its first communication or "within five days of that initial communication".[11]: (a)(1) If you dispute the debt in writing within 30 days, the collector "shall cease collection of the debt, or any disputed portion thereof, until the debt collector obtains verification of the debt" and mails it to you.[12]: (b) Disputing the credit report itself is a separate process. A bureau that gets your dispute must, "free of charge, conduct a reasonable reinvestigation" within 30 days (up to 45 if you send more information during that time),[13]: (a)(1) and the company that reported the item must investigate and then modify, delete or block anything it finds inaccurate, incomplete or unverifiable.[4]: (b)

Phone, cable and utility accounts

Phone, pay-TV and utility companies can also share your account history with a separate reporting company, the National Consumer Telecom & Utilities Exchange (NCTUE). According to the CFPB, it "collects and shares information on new telecom and utility connect requests, paid-as-agreed and past-due account and payment histories including delinquencies and charge-offs." Equifax runs the database for its members, but "Equifax is not a member of the NCTUE," and you can ask the NCTUE for a free copy of your report every 12 months.[14] Whether a particular provider reports to the NCTUE, to the three big bureaus, to both or to neither is up to that provider.

This section describes federal law and industry practice in general terms. It doesn't cover state law, which can add protections, and it isn't legal advice. It describes a company's own policy only where that company is quoted above. See the disclaimer.


Equipment fees

DISH requires return of leased equipment (Hopper, Joey, satellite components) after service ends. DISH provides return packaging. Unreturned equipment results in additional charges, often hundreds of dollars per device, added to your final bill.


Frequently asked questions

Can I cancel my DISH contract early without an ETF? An ETF set by your specific Promotion Agreement can apply for early cancellation, including for non-payment. The one waiver stated in DISH's Residential Customer Agreement is for disconnecting within 24 hours of accepting the agreement. DISH's current Agreement does not publish broader waivers (such as for military deployment or death of the customer); check your Promotion Agreement or ask DISH directly.

Does DISH offer payment arrangements? Yes. DISH customer service can set up a payment arrangement that splits a past-due balance into installments and may delay disconnection.

What is the DISH Pause feature? DISH allows account pause for up to several months for life events (extended travel, seasonal use). Pausing service voluntarily is not the same as having it disconnected for non-payment and does not trigger ETFs.


Last verified: September 2026. This page is not affiliated with or endorsed by DISH Network. See our disclaimer.

References

  1. ^ DISH: Residential Customer Agreement (accessed 2026-09-24)
  2. ^ DISH: Fees (accessed 2026-09-22)
  3. ^ CFPB: Key Dimensions and Processes in the U.S. Credit Reporting System (December 2012) (accessed 2026-09-24)
  4. ^ 15 U.S.C. § 1681s-2: Responsibilities of furnishers of information to consumer reporting agencies (accessed 2026-09-24)
  5. ^ Experian: Glossary of Account Conditions and Payment Status, Version 7 (accessed 2026-09-24)
  6. ^ 12 CFR 1006.30: Other prohibited practices (Regulation F) (accessed 2026-09-24)
  7. ^ FFIEC: Uniform Retail Credit Classification and Account Management Policy (Federal Reserve) (accessed 2026-09-24)
  8. ^ 65 FR 36903: Uniform Retail Credit Classification and Account Management Policy (June 12, 2000) (accessed 2026-09-24)
  9. ^ 15 U.S.C. § 1681c: Requirements relating to information contained in consumer reports (accessed 2026-09-24)
  10. ^ 15 U.S.C. § 1692a: Definitions (Fair Debt Collection Practices Act) (accessed 2026-09-24)
  11. ^ 12 CFR 1006.34: Notice for validation of debts (Regulation F) (accessed 2026-09-24)
  12. ^ 15 U.S.C. § 1692g: Validation of debts (accessed 2026-09-24)
  13. ^ 15 U.S.C. § 1681i: Procedure in case of disputed accuracy (accessed 2026-09-24)
  14. ^ CFPB: National Consumer Telecom & Utilities Exchange (NCTUE) (accessed 2026-09-24)